Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It can be argued that the railways are more in need of the Government's investment than roads. For certain reasons, I believe this point of view is likely to be disagreed.

Based on the fact that cars are now the dominant choice of vehicles in the world, investing in roads is, indeed, one of the top solutions for the rate of car accidents. In particular, the quality of roads, especially high-way, has shown significant impacts in reducing accidents that happened due to wheel-strip, blocking-objects,... The more people choosing cars as their vehicle, the more responsibility the Governments are facing to guarantee their safety on the roads.

Having said that there are some who still agree because they think better railways would somehow encourage people to use public transportation, such as trains. However, it is its convenience, of which time-flexibility and time-saving, comes along with the privacy of personal vehicles that make cars way more common than trains. Therefore, spending on railways can be considered as not efficient, when the roads are more urgent to be invested.

Furthermore, the process of putting a train into running not just includes only qualified railways, but also a whole complex system of the workforce, energy, and engineering platform that needs to be maintained. By that, investing in railways turns out to cost the Government much more money than that on roads. The national resources can be saved just by spending on improving roads instead of railways.

To sum up, I believe there are more reasons to disagree with this statement. In the next decade, roads will still need a concentration of government investment, until cars stop being the number one vehicle chosen.