Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree the statement.

Provision of safe roads and faster transportation to public is a primary responsibility of all the governments whether they belong to a developed country or developing one. Some people hold the view that more revenues should be allocated for the development of railway networks instead of roads infrastructure. In my opinion, however, it is impractical to spend solely on any one mode of transportation without analysing the geographical conditions and circumstances of people.

Railways offer substantial benefits, it is a cost-effective, time effective, eco-friendly, fast commuting and safe transportation service. For instance, train serves to commute greater number of passengers than bus, it usually does not face the problem of traffic congestion, leading to less consumption and wastage of fossil fuel which eventually reduces the risk of air pollution and global warming. Moreover, accidents on railway tracks are infrequent as compared to roads, therefore it is safer to travel by train. In addition to this, trains can carry several tonnes of goods including heavy machinery which can contribute to flourish trade, business and industry of a country locally, nationally and internationally; subsequently boosting the economy of the state.

Certainly, the aforementioned advantages of railways are tremendous, but they cannot exterminate the worldwide importance of roads. Since ancient times roads have been serving to connect different regions of the world and yet the development of roads, highways, motorways, bridges, underground road tunnels etc has become pivotal. Also, trains are not suitable to cover the distances in rocky mountainous areas and not every destination is reachable by train. Hence people need to travel by road and nobody can deny the significance of building better roads infrastructure.

In the conclusion, I would like to give my view that governments should formulate logical strategies in the best interest of their common people by rationally investing the public money for construction and renovation of railways and roads both, according to the needs and necessities of place and populace.