Great men are always willing to be little. To what extent you agree or disagree?

History has provided us with many great men. Greatness is an ability to put principles, humanity and other people's interests ahead of yours. It is fully agreed that men of high moral stature are always willing to undermine their self interest in favor of getting something greater for their people. The role of this attitude in their struggle for equal rights, principles, humanitarian gains and freedom shall be discussed in this essay.

World always respects and remembers those great personalities who fight for equal rights for all humanity, with no exception of race and color. Nelson Mandela was one example of such great individual, during 20th century. He did not blink twice before sacrificing his own basic life luxuries to get rights for his fellow men. He like the great leaders, endured multiple hardships during his journey and was kept locked up in a cell for many years in his struggle to get black men the same rights as the white, in South Africa. This clearly shows that great men do not think about their personal lives or gains and can lower themselves to life in jail for their people.

Similarly, fighting for freedom of one's people from tyrannical rule is also considered a great service and suffering of a leader for this greater purpose is always considered legendary. De Lai Lama of Tibet is a living example of such great leaders and is a great leader of this 21st century. He suffered physical and mental torture from the Chinese just for making his people aware of their subservient role in the region and creating a movement of freedom from the imposed occupation of their land by china. He, just like Nelson Mandela, was put in jail but was also forced to leave his country and take shelter in India but he continued to pursue his goal of Tibet freedom. This demonstrates and proves our point that great leaders can go to the great extent of exile to save and help their people.

All in all, great people do not think about themselves while acting in the interest of their people. That is what differentiates them from dictators and rulers. In my opinion great men do not consider themselves as a single entity and devote themselves for the greater good of humanity.