The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The number of children suffering from obesity has increased by an alarming proportion of 1/5th the previous number in the last decade in western countries. There are multiple factors contributing to this distressing fact and the effects of this trend among young children are really detrimental to their overall health.

One of the major reasons of this rise in weight gain in children is reduced physical activity. With the advent of modern day internet and online gaming, children are less interested in physical sports like football, cricket or basketball and would rather play video games on their computers. Parents also feel safer with their children being indoors playing physically harmless games on their consoles than playing outside in the open field with various dangers. Another cause of this upsetting trend is the nonchalant behavior of parents towards their children having junk food. The fact that junk food is easily available and much cheaper than fresh vegetables and fruits in the western world market makes it accessible and affordable to all the sections of society and leads to excessive weight gain in children.

All these dietary and physical routines leading to obesity have many deleterious effects on physical health of the youth. Obesity can lead to various diseases including diabetes, heart diseases, stomach issues and bone disorders. For example, according to a recent study the incidence of type 1 diabetes and type 2 diabetes has increased by about 10% among children and the major percentage of those children were overweight or obese according to their BMI. Similarly, heart diseases and death rate are on a rise among obese children. Along with physical health, mental health of these children also gets affected. Another recent study in Canada established that there was a direct relation between weight gain and major depressive disorders among children.

To conclude, increasing obesity among children in western society caused by poor diet and physical activity has only negative effects on growth and development of young children. Measures should be taken by parents, schools and governments to enact rules and ensure such an environment that promotes physical sports and healthy eating among young children to secure and protect their future and prosperity.