With a great variety of social networking websites, people often add complete strangers to their friend lists.

Do you think that this tendency helps people to find new friends or is it just a mean to increase their self-esteem? Justify your opinion with relevant examples.

Social Networking is an important part of every individual life nowadays. In this contemporary era there are multifarious websites and applications are available where people are trying to extend their network by making friends online. Albeit, number of persons are there whose friend lists consist of complete strangers. Although, I believe this behaviour of individuals have more benefits than drawbacks.

To commence with, we need to understand that in this modern world networking plays a significant role in order to achieve success. Moreover, this advancement in technology helps us to spread our network not only in our own country but on international level as well. Many small scale entrepreneurs are there who became friend with foreigners online, and then they establish their business in other continent. For instance, one of my colleague who became a friend with Danish citizen through social media platform who later invested in this dream project and helped him to create his own investment firm.

In addition, expending network socially also helps establishing personal relationship. We can learn more about different cultures, religions, and cuisines of various nations. Besides, many citizens have found their life partner through various dating applications and sites. Furthermore, as per the survey conducted by one of the European University, funded by private organizations illustrates that relations of couples who meet online are reliable than others.

To recapitulate, making random and unknown friends are more beneficial. It has helped countless individuals to achieve success both in personal and professional life. However, there are some risks included but comparatively they are extremely less.