The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Due to a significant increase in health problems related to overweight, the healthcare system has been overwhelmed. Many people believe that enhancing exercise lessons and sports activities in schools is the best solution to address it. I partly agree with this idea, as there are still more effective approaches.

I agree that introducing more physical education lessons in curricula is necessary to tackle health issues. It has long-lasting effectiveness with an affordable investment for young generations in the early, compared with expenditures on curing diseases associated with obesity and overweight later. If students do more exercise and participate in sports in their schools, they can be fitter and healthier, enabling them to avoid a sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, their family members encouraging their children are more likely to engage in physical activities. As a result, people might avoid becoming overweight, helping reduce the pressures on the healthcare system in the long run.

Nevertheless, introducing more physical education lessons in schools is not the best method. People can intentionally adopt different steps to not being overweight daily, which is more direct and appropriate for each individual than only focusing on physical education in schools. For example, improving people’s awareness of a balanced diet schedule will have better effects on the person’s weight and health problems. Another one is that public physical activities, such as morning exercises and dancing in the parks, may influence popularly on the community. Thus, individuals can flexibly adopt other appropriate methods depending on their health condition and lifestyle.

In conclusion, encouraging more physical education in the school curriculum is crucial to reduce pressures on the health care systems. However, I think that there are some better methods to deal with overweight problems.