A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

An increasing number of people are advocating similar rights for animals as humans, while many are against this notion as they believe that it is essential that humans employ animals for their own benefits. This essay will discuss both views and come to a conclusion.

Many people believe that as animals are living beings, they should enjoy same rights as humans. It is considered a cruelty to separate a mother from her children in order to slaughter or conduct research. Many animals are subjected to harsh conditions in research facilities where many new drugs and make-up products are tested on them and potential side effects noted. Many animals like cheetah, alligator, and snakes are brutally killed for their skin which is then made into expensive coats and handbags.

On the other hand, there are many who argue that humans are at the top of the food chain and that they have a right to use animals for their needs. Humans are omnivores and they have a right to consume animals. Furthermore, with the advancement in the field of Science, newer drugs for treating life-threatening diseases are being discovered every day, and it is warranted that potential side effects are identified before using it on humans.

To sum up, animal rights have been a controversial issue lately with many NGO's and authority working for this cause. In my opinion, animals should enjoy equal rights as humans. Humans, being superior species have a responsibility to protect other species sharing our planet as well.