A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs including uses for food and research Dis

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on whether animals could be killed by people. Some claim that animal exploitation is morally reprehensible whereas others consider this long-held practice should continue to meet the basic needs of human beings. In my opinion, whether animals can be sacrificed depends on the purpose of using them.

On the one hand, some animal advocates assert that animals have the same rights as people. For instance, animals, just like humans, also experience pain and fear. People will scream in discomfort if someone grabs their hair from behind. Likewise, the living geese will definitely suffer tremendous agony as their feathers are ripped out for the down jackets that people wear during the winter. Unfortunately, most people take this cruelty for granted, not knowing that their inhuman mentality has violated the animal rights to live healthily and happily.

On the other hand, others have no scruples about slaughtering animals since they might be used for something that benefits people. For example, all approved vaccines are tested by animals such as mice and dogs. If the government does not get vaccines strictly examined through animal experiments, it can never guarantee their safety and effectiveness, and therefore children’s health will be jeopardized. In addition, meat is the major access to receiving protein that everyone needs every day. If no animals are killed, people will no longer get enough nutrition.

In my opinion, the issue of whether animals could be exploited is completely contingent upon how we use them. For instance, if people kill animals for food, it is totally acceptable. Since almost all people consume meat every day, it is necessary to slaughter animals for this demand. Nonetheless, if people abuse animals excessively, the food chain of animals will be destroyed. Afterwards, the balance of nature will be disturbed because of the disrupted food chain, thereby adversely affecting human lives.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that sacrificing animals is tolerable on the condition that we properly use them to maximize people’s overall benefits.