A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that human must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been dividing opinions regarding role of animals in human lives and animal rights. Some people claim that animals should be granted rights and respected by humankind, while the others hold a belief that animals must be employed for different purposes for us, including food supply and further research materials. These two opposite views will be discussed in this essay.

Although animals lose ability to express thinkings to human, it is impossible to deny the fact that animals still have their own lives. In other words, nature has given all animals, including us, rights to live and protect themselves from enemies. What is more, animals for long time has had to suffer from pain and human cruelty. Millions of livestocks have been euthanized for human food supplies and even some endangered species have been constantly threatened by poachers and habitat loss. Thus, it is crucial to stop exploiting animals for human purposes and animals themselves are worth gaining stronger protection from human.

However, people could terribly suffer from food scarcity if animals were free from human exploitation as meat from certain kinds of animals are playing an indispensable part in our everyday’s meals. Also, meat provides essential nutritions for us to grow and develop normally, prevents us from being undernourished. In addition, some animals are also provided for wildlife research. These research are necessary as it will aim to find solutions to combat current environmental issues, including climate change and ecosystem imbalance, and protect the biological diversity. Although we can minimize the number of harmed animals, it is obvious that animals are still essential for us and we cannot live a life without the presence of them

To sum up, while it is true that animals should be granted rights and treated as humans, animals still play a vital role in human life, notably providing meat and materials for further scientific projects. In my view, instead of jettisoning the use of animals, we should encourage local authorities and companies to limit the use of wild animals and natural habitats to protect them from being at risk.