Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person s income The health of a person is in their own hands and they should therefore be held accountable for that Do you agree with this opinion

Health is a universally accepted, fundamental human right and standing by this notion, I completely disagree that people should be held solely responsible for their health. I firmly believe that basic health care should always remain a free service to the public.

Health has been defined by the World Health Organization(WHO) as “a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of a disease or infirmary”. This definition clearly entails that the health of a person is influenced by a multitude of factors many of which are beyond the hold of the person. Factors such as accessibility to quality potable water, a balanced nutrition, a clean and green environment, timely immunisations, safe working and living conditions and access to right information on health, and so on, are beyond a person’s control, more so among populations of developing nations. These are the provisions that the government is expected to deliver to its public, irrespective of socio-economic status, age, gender or race, for the welfare of the state.

The old adage that “the body is a temple” and that one holds the responsibility of taking care of and respecting it might be valid but in today’s busy world of cut throat competitions, one is bounded by constraints of time, resources, family and work. When the struggle for survival and existence is in question, it becomes customary that health-consciousness takes a backseat. In developing and under-developed countries, wherein a large chunk of the population is poverty-ridden, this struggle is a daily affair. It is quite unfair then that these people are held responsible for their health or rather ill-health and are denied basic health care on monetary grounds.

Therefore, in my perspective, it is unwise to blame a person entirely for their health and states should be able to provide impartial, free basic health care to all their citizens.