Some people think that politicians have the greatest influence on the world Other people however believe that scientists have the greatest influence Discuss both views and give your opinion

Since the beginning of human civilisation, it has typically been a popular leader or a politician whose words or actions has brought about significant changes in world history. Conversely, scientists have also made remarkable contributions benefitting mankind but their impact has commonly been known to be sidelined. This brings me to concur to the view that politicians indeed have a more acute effect on people than scientists.

Scientists are people of knowledge and education. Their lives remain immersed in their pool of research and studies. They have limited interactions with the general public. Consequently the society often remains unaware of their work and much of their achievements remain unsung about. We can take for example the telephone without which today life seems improbable. Most of the public will be aware of the telecom providers that their governments allow but will not be aware of Sir Alexander G. Bell who invented it in the first place. Even today there is no unified platform where scientists from all over could share their discoveries, inventions and achievements with the general public in a way that could help them gain popularity.

Politicians on the other hand, are people’s representatives. Every word they say and every action they undertake has a direct impact on people. Politicians have an upper hand in their public reach as they are freely backed by their party people, supporters, media and more importantly by the law enforcement bodies. All major treaties, wars, alliances, contracts among countries around the world, which influenced the course of world events were associated with decisions by world leaders and politicians.

Frankly, the analogy is not even a fair one. Although there is much power in knowledge, scientists are unable to affect the lives of the average joes of the world the way a speech or decision of a politician does.