The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of the advertising but not the real need of the whole society in which they sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent decades, advertisements have been attracting a great deal of public attention due to its substantial impacts on consumers’ perceptions of products. I agree with the view that an increase in consumer goods sales could reflect advertising power but not consumers’ real demand.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why advertisements lead to high sales of products. First, products displayed on televisions are invariably associated with false portrayals and overstatement of the quality. This will act as an incentive for viewers’ desire to purchase the products, subsequently leading to higher sales. Second, Many commercials have a penchant for featuring many renowned singers or actors with attractive external appearance, encouraging people especially their fans to buy the advertised products. For instances, sales of electric bicycles in Vietnam have skyrocketed thanks to the company’ mainstreaming bicycle advertisements with the appearance of Son Tung, the leading luminary in the Vietnamese music industry.

On the one hand, it is true that highers sales of popular products suggest zero correlation with consumers’ needs. People especially low-income ones have a propensity to spend money on purchasing glamorous items such as exorbitant garments or high-tech devices to match the high-income ones. In fact, sales of iPhone in Vietnam have witnessed a massive increase because an expensive iPhone is deemed to be the measure of prosperity. Subsequently, many low-income individuals have made attempt to purchase this item so that they could look rich in society irrespective of its relevance to their life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that increasing sales of consumer goods suggests the advertising power but are incompatible with consumers’ real demand.