The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the trend that advertising soaring sales of goods and inducing consumers to purchase what they do not need has been receiving a great deal of public attention. In my opinion, I believe that advertising has the power to entice people to buy unnecessary things.

There are several reasons why advertisements have the power to boost sales. first, since advertising uses a repetitive strategy on social media, customers will remember advertised products and feel prompted and to shop. In fact, the internet and television support advertising in displaying products at high frequency, making consumers able to find an excuse to shop. second, by paying a large amount of money to celebrities for branding endorsement, advertisers have made it easy for the majority of people to go shopping, especially the youth. this means that brand representatives will attract a large number of loyal fans who are willing to spend money buying products advertised by their idols, leading to buying craze as a result.

On the other hand, I think that people purchase things that they do not need because of advertising. first, advertisements persuade people to follow the latest trend, which makes them replace the thing that still could be used by the new one. iphone, for example, displays every year without noticeable innovations, but always brings a massive amount of sales for Apple company, especially the iphone 12 which accounts for 42% of global smartphone revenue because of their marketing strategy. second, advertising manipulates buyers by exaggerating the accounts of their products with glossy photos. In this way, customers will buy the products without realizing the real one could be different from the one in the photos, which makes them frustrated and no longer use them.

In conclusion, with the convincing arguments mentioned above, I agree that the power of advertising is reflected by a large number of sales not the real need of society.