The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the trend of advertising that is the main drive of soaring sales of goods and inducing consumers to purchase what they do not actually need has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although advertising has the power to entice people to buy unnecessary items, it shows the excess in modern society.

There are a number of reasons why advertisements have the power to boost sales. First, since advertising uses repetitive strategies on social media, customers will remember advertised products and feel prompted to shop. In fact, the internet and television support advertising in displaying goods at high frequency, making consumers able find an excuse to shop. Second, by paying the large amount of money to celebrities for branding endorsement, advertisers have made it easier for the majority of people to go shopping than ever before, especially the youth. This means that brand representatives will attract a large number of loyal fans who are willing to spend money buying products advertised by their idols, leading to buying-craze as a result.

Unarguably, high sales reflect the unrealistic demand of society. First, customers are often tempted by glossy images and promises from advertising, they are inclined to make an impulsive purchase on unnecessary commodities. For example, one still tends to upgrade mobile phones with the latest and cutting-edge versions even though his current phone is still in the usable condition, wasting a great deal of unnecessary money, and beyond that, making the environment contaminated for waste. Second, by targeting customers who are doubtful and worried about their health, advertising will offer functional products to them. In fact, these people have no real need for these goods but they are induced to buy due to lacking of knowledge in these areas.

In conclusion, the power of advertising has made the flow of goods accessible to the market, benefiting both producers and consumers. However, high sales reflect a problem that is a virtual need of society and produces a range of problems as