Human activities have a negative effect on plant and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything. Some people think that we should take effective action to improve the situation. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

As human actions have led to various environmental-related issues, opinions have diverged on whether or not it is high time we took measures to safeguard the natural species. While there are some valid arguments against the efforts of preserving the natural environment, I still believe that we should never stop trying to better the situation.

Opponents usually argue that over-industrialization and deforestation are ruining our own living space much greater than we can ever expect. As a result, it is meaningless to rescue endangered animals and protect wildlife habitats since our endeavors are trivial. Moreover, many people would argue that governments have more pressing social problems that need to be given priority to such as economic stress or educational issues. Therefore, they have a hard time trying to allocate financial budget properly to all sectors and the environmental issues can be easily neglected.

Despite the preceding arguments, I support the idea that we should never underestimate our efforts in preserving animals and plants. It is undeniable that biodiversity is one of human being’s greatest assets and the disappearance of wild animals would trigger some problems to human lives. To exemplify, the drop in the population of owls may lead to the multiplication of voles, which are big eaters of crops. Consequently, the existence of natural resources is a key factor in maintaining ecological balance.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is necessary to take measures to rescue the living creatures on Earth for benefits of our generations in the long-term.