Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change.

Discuss both and give your own opinion,.

Over the past few decades, it has been increasingly rigorous for plants and animals to adapt to the current condition on the Earth due to the impacts stemming from human’s activities. While many people find it impossible to improve, others believe in its likelihood of change. Personally, I agree with the second statement and will support this view after discussing both opinions.

On the one hand, individuals against the possibility of improvement justify that these bad influences were exerted by inevitable activities. Indeed, the rising population presents an enormous demand for essential infrastructure for accommodation, entertainment or healthcare. This leads to the massive construction, releasing an excessive load of particulate matters, which can restrain species’ respiratory system. Another cause of negative effects can be found in intensive industrial production, the outcome of which is not only economic growth but also many environmental drawbacks: contamination of harmful gases (SO2, NOx) can cause acid rain; the needs of space for factories cause deforestation, as well as loss of natural cohabitation of species.

On the other hand, it is believed that effective measures can be taken to alleviate these negative effects. First, the advancement of innovative technology facilitates the utilization of alternative energy, which is less detrimental for plants and animals, compared to fossil fuel, thanks to lower amount of released harmful gases. Second, policies are also of great use in preventing species from destruction, as we see in Canada, which saw a considerable decline in number of seal hunters after the seal clothes prohibition in Europe came into effect.

In brief, when not disavowing that the impacts upon plants and animals are unavoidable, I believe that human activities can be modified to minimize them and assure sustainable lives for all species.