If a five-year old commits a crime, should his/her parents take the responsibility and how should the parents be punished? What should be the age of a child when parents no longer take the responsibility for his or her behavior?

There is a controversial question about the punishment for parents whose children commit crimes. Personally, I believe they should share some responsibilities with their juvenile delinquents, and I also think that 18 is the legal age when a child is fully responsible for his or her actions.

To begin with, parents should take responsibilities for the crimes of their juvenile delinquents. This is because they are the ones who have the most influence on their children. Indeed, in the formative years, youngsters spend most of their time with their fathers and mothers, and they often imitate the behaviors of their parents. In addition, as children are those who have not fully developed, they need the help of parents to distinguish between the right and wrong. Therefore, if young people commit crimes, it is most likely the faults of their parents, so that the parents should be punished.

However, it is difficult to determine the proper punishment for fathers and mothers whose children violate the law. Firstly, as they are only partially responsible for what has happened, governments cannot put all the blame on parents. After all, they are not the ones who actually commit crimes, and there are other factors that influence the wrongdoing of children, such as the adult contents on the media or the peer pressure from bad friends. In my opinion, I believe the best punishment is for authorities to ask parents to pay a large amount of fine, and demand one of them to stay at home watching their children. By doing this, parents can have more time to keep an eye on their offsprings, so that they could have more chance to correct the wrongdoing of these juvenile delinquents.

It is also difficult to decide the maturity age of children, as it depends on the culture and personality of children. For instance, Asian children often live with parents, so that they are less mature than their peers in Western countries. However, the widely accepted age is 18, as it is when people begin their adulthood.

In conclusion, parents should take partial responsibility for the wrongdoings of their children, and the maturity age of children should be 18.