With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages of damaging such areas?

It is true that humans should search for new sources of oil and gas in wilderness areas due to the increasing demand for energy sources of fossil fuels. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there is a major benefit when exploring new sources of fossil fuels into new areas. With the increasing population and industrialization, there is a higher demand for manufacturing and utilizing, followed by the huge amount of fossil fuels such as gas and oil consumed. According to the researches conducted in 2018, a Vietnamese family used the average number of electricity which was double, compared to that last decade. Therefore, it is essential to explore many new sources of gas and oil in unexploited areas apart from the existing ones.

On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks are far more noticeable than such advantages. One reason for this view is that exploiting the new areas to look for sources of fossil fuels imposes negative impacts on ecosystems. This can pose a threat to the habitats of wildlife, deforestation, as a consequence of climate change. If these issues happen, humans will cope with natural disasters including floods, droughts, acid rain,...Another reason is putting a burden on the national budget. In fact, not every country is wealthy enough to pay for various arising expenditures such as maintenance costs and construction. As a result, instead of looking for sources of these non-renewable energies, it is much more vital to generate unconventional resources.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this trend are more significant than the advantages.