An increasing number of advertisements on TV nowadays aim at children.

What are the effects of television advertising on children?

Do you think advertisements aimed at children should be controlled?

In recent years, more and more TV commercials (TVCs) are making children their target audience. In this essay, I will outline a number of effects TV advertising has on children and state my point that there should be policies restricting children’s adverts.

There are various effects of children’s advertisements on children themselves. On the one hand, TV adverts can help children improve their cognitive ability. TVCs today are becoming increasingly creative and informative with storylines and even plot twists resembling movies’. When children watch these adverts, they will have their brain constantly stimulated and will start to develop different perspectives on every-day matters. However, as advertising is manipulative because its number-one aim is to sell products, children, whose perspectives have yet to thoroughly develop, easily fall victim to such an effect. Many steal their parents’ money to buy things advertised as “cool”, and many others start to pester their parents for unhealthy products such as fast food because they saw such products on TV earlier.

From my perspective, TVCs targeting children are to be strictly controlled as to their airtime and contents for several reasons. First, strict censorship on sensitive contents in children’s advertisements can help protect children from exposure to inappropriate messages while still keeping all the creative values of adverts. Thanks to this, parents can let children watch TVCs and learn more about the world from this source without worries over the presence of violent or erotic scenes. Secondly, by truncating the airtime of advertisements on harmful products, there are chances that children will be less influenced by these adverts. Eventually, children’s consumption of health-damaging products should be on the decrease.

In conclusion, TV commercials bring about both positive and negative impacts to young children, and in order to enhance the positive effects and minimize the adverse ones, I think that proper control on advertisements is necessary.