An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In today's modern education system the usage of technology has increased, and schools have started to replace the books and printed materials with tablets and computer which has brought a revolution to the legacy education system.

Firstly, the usage of computers and tablets to study helps students to understand the concepts in detail. For instance, a student would be able to understand the concept deeply by watching an animated video of the process rather than studying a printed material. Another major advantage of the usage of tablets and computers is that students will be able to access the lectures taken remotely incase of doubts while preparing for an examination or if they miss the class. The increase in usage of electronic devices in schools, and universities helps the environment as the usage of paper is reduced which has a direct impact on the rate of deforestation to make paper.

However, the usage of electronic devices benefits the students in a lot of ways, but they can be distracting also. For instance, students might use tablets and laptops to play games, and for chatting in social media instead of using it for studying. The usage of electronic devices for doing assignments has increased the rate of plagiarism as students can easily copy the work done by others. Conducting examination online is always a risk as there is a threat of hacking the results and there is also a threat of hacking and leaking the question paper before the examination.

Overall, to conclude the usage of laptops and tablets has brought a revolution to the traditional education system and provides a lot of benefits to the students.