Eventually, technology will solve the most important environmental problems the world faces today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology alone cannot be the solution to the major environmental problems that are faced.

The imbalance in the environment is created by the development of technology. For instance, transportation in earlier days were made use of animals which was environmentally friendly, due to the development of technology the animal-based carriages evolved into vehicles that use petrol as a fuel to power the engines. Petrol, when burnt, releases harmful gases that cause depletion in the Ozone layer, and also increases the level of CO2 in the environment which leads to global warming. Also, extracting petrol from the sea bed affects the ecosystem of the ocean and may lead to a Tsunami.

Although advancement in technology causes an imbalance in nature it can provide solutions to some of the important problems that we face today. For example, advanced technology has paved the way for extracting fuels from new sources of energy like solar, wind and hydraulic energy which we can get from air, water, and sun, and these sources are inexhaustible. The extracted energy can be then used to power automobiles, and even can be used to generate electricity. These resources can be used as a perfect replacement for petrol and other fossil fuels like coal which release a lot of carbon into the atmosphere which damages.

The advancement in technology has both positive and negative effects and cannot be the solution for solving all the major environmental problems as most of the imbalance in nature is created due to advancements in technology, but it also provides alternate ways to reduce the impact in the environment.