With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

With the advent of the Internet and other technological marvels, online communication and cellular messaging has gained enormous popularity in our contemporary life. As a result, there exists a widespread concern that this tendency may make the traditional form of communication pale into insignificance. While this school of thought seems appealed to me to some extent, I also argue that distant communication cannot entirely replace face to face method.

To begin with, the proliferation of the Internet and mobile devices has scaled back face to face communication. Firstly, communicating via the Internet is more convenient on the grounds it can alleviate the problem of geographical distance. Instead of having to travel from one place to another, people now can send instant messages or make video calls in a few seconds no matter where they are. This practice has proved much useful, especially to acquaintances or relatives who live in far-flung areas.

Secondly, there are inevitable situations in which one to one communication is impossible. Take the Covid 19 pandemic as a case in point, when everyone has to work from home due to social distancing policy. Thanks to communication apps such as Zoom or Google Meet, people can still attend online business meetings, preventing important appointments and interviews from being disrupted.

On the other hand, face to face communication still remains an integral part in our life. First of all, it is the best way to express our feelings and affection towards each other, while instant messages or online texts cannot convey our ideas in the most thorough manner. Moreover, it is by virtue of physical presence that our human being can maintain long-term relationships and gain better understanding about other people. That's why face to face communication is of great prominence when it comes to socializing with others.

Furthermore, there are some cases in which communicating in person is more suitable than distant method. For example, some important political negotiations or business meetings require outstanding corporate culture and the very presence of the attendees so that the final agreement or task fulfilment can be efficiently obtained. In such cases, direct meetings seem to be more ideal for these purposes.

In conclusion, that the Internet and cellular messaging has become one of the most powerful facilitator for communicating with each other is unquestionable, however this doesn't mean the death knell of face to face communication.