Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people might argue that the most effective method to deal with the growth of traffic and pollution issues is raising the cost of fuel. In this essay, however, I will challenge this school of thought.

One might argue that increasing the gasoline cost could help to solve environmental problems. They believe that by increasing the cost of fuel, citizens, particularly those looking to save money, would give up using their own vehicles for public one. However, this line of reasoning is not really sound because even if the price is raised, the public traffic system is not enough for the demand. As a result, people will continue to ride their personal bikes. In other words, when public transit does not provide enough facilities and petrol prices rise, people tend to use their own vehicles, especially bicycles. Despite the fact that it is beneficial to the environment, the number of automobiles on the road continues to rise.

Apart from the practical disadvantages expressed above, I believe that the government should promote people about the other alternatives. The authorities should introduce renewable energy sources such as solar power or water power to the people and encourage them to use it. This is because using those types of energies can reduce the amount of toxic gasses released from vehicles. Solar-powered automobiles, for example, transform solar energy into electrical energy so that they can operate without releasing toxic gas to the environment.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that boosting up the petrol price is not the key to reduce transport congestion and environmental problems. Nevertheless, by encouraging people to use renewable energies to reduce the harmful effects of emissions from vehicles to the environment.