Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

Some people argue that raising the price of petrol is the best method of solving increasing problems caused by transportation. I completely disagree with this opinion, and I believe better solutions are to develop transportation technology and improve laws on traffic.

By raising the price of petrol, traffic and environmental problems will be slightly improved but it won’t change significantly. Firstly, high expenditure on petrol only affects people who are less well- off. Those who afford petrol and cars easily do not take it into account and they just use vehicles as before. Secondly, it may lead to other traffic problems without adjustment of public transportation. We drive cars because the need for traveling actually exists. If the use of cars are restricted by petrol cost, there should be some substitute to meet our demands. But public transports only function well in limited situations.

Development of transportation technology and legislation concerning traffic are effective ways to solve these problems. Self-driving cars have been put into use in some countries nowadays. It is much safer because artificial intelligence do not get exhausted and are not distracted. And with the aid of self-driving technology, there will be fewer cars on the road but still meet the demand of people. For example, we can just take a Uber instead of driving on our own so we do not have to buy a car and leave it idle most time. Implement of laws will reduce traffic accidents and pollution. It is substantial that car accidents have decreased a lot since the legislation on drunk driving. And the limitation of unqualified cars on the road can reduce emission respectively.

In conclusion, merely higher price of petrol makes limited effects on improving traffic situations and reducing pollution. It is necessary to advance traffic technology and strengthen road legislation.