Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views about how to deal with increasing vehicles and pollution problems. In my opinion, I agree that making petrol become more pricy is the effective way than others in solving these problems.

The first reason is if the price of petrol goes up, people will reduce the amount of petrol that they consume. They can change to use another transport such as bus, bicycle, etc which are cheaper in using than vehicles ran by petrol. For example, in Vietnam, the employee tends to use bus rapid transit or BRT in travelling to work to reduce the emission in the atmosphere. As a result, the amount of the vehicle on the street decline, so not only traffic density but also pollution problems will be solved.

The second reason is the increase in the price of petrol will encourage people to use the vehicle which friendly with the environment. For example, inhabitants in America are using electric cars that are manufactured by Tesla company instead of using automobile ran by petrol. The factories in China use the machines that run on hydrogen. They use it because they are aware of the importance in protecting nature and these cars are very fashionable. As a consequence, this switch will tackle the pollution problems. Furthermore, the high price may also impulse scientist research and find out the new type of energy replace the petrol, which is friendly and suitable for all kinds of vehicles.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, increase the price of petrol is the effective way to reduce the consumption of this energy. Some measures could be taken by the government to solve the problems. One possible answer is investing in the research and development to detect the new type of energy and vehicle to reduce pollution.