Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think are effective?

there is a viewpoint that the best method to reduce or solve the issues of traffic congestion and air pollution is to increase the fuel price. I am not agree with the idea because some other steps can be more effective to address those problems.

Several reasons can explain why the price method should not be advocated. Firstly, most people commute by car due to the inefficiency of public transport system. if the gasoline price goes up, they would still drive to their company. Secondly, people in remote areas do not have sufficient choice when they want to go to the city center, in that case, driving car becomes the best option, it also causes to the crowd in downtown area. Finally, in my country, private vehicles are mostly possessed by the rich, they are not very sensitive to the fuel price, this is also applicable in many other developing countries. Instead of that methods, in my opinion, some more practical means can be taken to tackle with the problem.

In order to solve those questions, authorities can take some measures as following suggested. one the one hand, government funds can be invested in public transport system, such as street buses, taxies and subways. Only if there are more choice, people can get rid of their private cars. Furthermore, the society should be educated in the relation between fuel burning and exhaust fumes. Besides those two, governments can support researches on new energy vehicles. For example, if the solar energy or electric cars are well developed, the automobile exhaust would be reduced, thus the contaminants can be decreased.

In conclusion, I can understand people are eager for an environmentally friendly society; however, apart from raising petrol price, more steps like develop public transportation system, educate the society and support researches on new energy technology are desirable in our life.