Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think are effective?

With growth of population and urbanization, the traffic congestion and air pollution have become actual issues in the todays society. Most people believe that soaring petrol price is the best way to tackle these issues. Others suggest that rising the petrol prices will reflect on the low economy residents. Personally, I disagree with they idea that higher petrol prices could solve these problems and I believe that various other measures would be more effective.

To start with, oil and gas play a fundamental role in the industry. Since most of machinery used in different industries are operated by petrol. For instance, recent study in Japan revealed that 80% of all businesses depend on price of petrol. In addition, higher prices of fuel will influence the prices of various goods in the market through rising the cost of their transportation. As a result, the prices of goods would be rising up and affecting consumers. Undoubtly, the growth of oil and gas prices will create new problems.

However, there are some other ways to tackle traffic jams and pollution in cities. Improving methods of public transportation and increasing their availability will significantly reduce the use of cars. For example, a study published in the USA showed that upgrading in the different means of public transportation such as buses and trains resulted in decrease the number of traffic jams by around 25%. Moreover, government should invest more on repairing, expanding and constructing new roads.

To sum up, the growth of fuel prices is not the good way to solve traffic and pollution problems because it is a reason causing the rising of supplies cost. Although we have several alternative methods to deal with these problems as developing public transport and expanding the quantity of roads.