Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments andlarge companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree ordisagree?

Discoveries and unbelievable scientific inventions were achieved by individuals in the past. Environmental issues sprung up only in this 21st century. If scientists can conduct exploration in other planets, i strongly believe that they know how to save this gifted planet and to protect their environment. I am optimistic that either they might have already identified the solutions or must be working towards the solutions for improving their environment. I will discuss in the following section with few key points to substantiate my position.

The root cause of this problem emanated from globalization. Due to globalization, governments encouraged industries to flourish around the world. Every government's interest of any developing, developed country was to uplift their economy at any cost. This unilateral thinking blinded the governments from taking care of their very own planet. Governments should have banned the production of non bio-degradable products like plastics, glass, tins, nuclear wastes etc. long ago and promoted usage of bio-degradable products like paper, cloth, organic materials etc. Contrarily, Governments supported the corporate companies by getting their share of income and gave them a free hand entailing to air, water, land, noise pollution.

For example, Indian government allowed Dove Chemicals to operate in Bhopal resulting in Bhopal gas tragedy. Sterlite industries which caused pollution in Tuticorin was shutdown by the state government after huge public protests. Chernobyl nuclear plant disaster in Russia resulted due to the lack of safety framework by government. USA quite recently backed out of the global climate change summit citing various reasons.

As a solution to safeguard our environment, common man is capable of restoring the environment back its normalcy. Even though government comes with stringent policies, the mindset of every individual had changed in this 21st century in order to care of their environment. Individuals have already taken up their responsibility and they started doing their part in daily routine life like reducing their daily wastage, growing trees, limiting the usage of non bio-degradable products like plastic materials, organic products usage, power saving and less power consuming products would make a huge difference in protecting the world. To clean their environment, people started funding the environmental organizations and environmentalists started doing their job effectively. "Go Green" and "Save trees" are famous slogans which got stuck into the people minds. For example, with the help of environmentalists, people started cleaning their lakes, beaches, roads etc. Government also came up the program like Clean India, Ganga river cleaning project etc. to promote the need for taking care of our environment.

Hence i strongly agree and conclude that the common man is aware of all the consequences of global warming, drought, cyclones, tsunami, earth quakes. Since people already faced the wrath of the mother earth, it's better to leave it to the individuals to find out the solution for this environmental problems as they own the issue.