Information technology is changing many aspect of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of technology alters people’s daily life in order to bring impact positively for working, spending free time, and dominating home. However, the demerits cannot outbalance aforementioned merits.

It is believed that the advance technology has a positive effect in some occupations immensely due to virtual meeting. Although a negativity to work virtually is to suffer from some voice disturbances, especially from relatives’, this does not influence the positivity because working from home has a tendency to communicate to family intensely every day. For instance, when IT professionals have to meet by accessing a teleconference application, such as ZOOM, they are able to keep in touch with children and wife because of staying in the house in a full day. If the children yell loudly, this will be solved by creating a new room which is only for occupying.

Thanks to technology development, it reveals another immense impact to access easily to a number of entertainments beneficially. Nevertheless, this sedentary activity to spend leisure time by surfing information on the Internet originate physical issues, just like an obesity. Nonetheless, the benefit is more influence because of increasing mental health by watching funny video. According to a survey in 2020, the rate of bad mental sufferers in Indonesia decreased from 15% to 10% since accessing YouTube to watch some comedy channels has an ability to reduce stress, having a tendency to incline a hormone to develop mental resilience. Therefore, it is better for mental growth to cope with hard situations.

In conclusion, it is true that information technology originates many benefits for teleworking and entertaining, which surpass the detrimental impacts. Where possible, people should balance between productive and leisure time.