Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The 21st century has drastically changed the way people live with the aid of information technology. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of integrating modern technologies into one’s life.

On the one hand, technologies alleviate people’s lives, especially in the field of education. This is because the IT-sphere has dramatically ameliorated over the last 20 years and the Internet has become omnipresent. Hence a person can gain their education from anywhere in the world and whenever. For example, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, 95% of eminent Russian universities decided to educate pupils remotely to decrease the number of infected ones, so students continued to obtain their education notwithstanding hazardous disease. In the other words, technological progress is accompanied by new opportunities.

On the other hand, IT indirectly influences the way people communicate and treat each other. This is because while chatting online a person is not able to watch the interlocutor's emotions on the words said; therefore, one gets used to this phenomenon and becomes a tough egoistic person. Moreover, developing technologies have an adverse impact on our cognitive abilities. For instance, in accordance to the Ministry of Health of Russia, the rate of emotional intelligence has dropped by 25% with the emergence of the Internet and its users are not as empathetic as their ancestors. Thus, the World Wide Web has a bad influence on people’s soft skills and cognitive processes.

In conclusion, this essay shed light on the positive and adverse effects of developments in the sphere of technologies.