Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The logistic industry has seen progress in recent decades as it is playing an increasingly irreplaceable role in daily activities of people. Although there are certain shortcomings of this change, I believe those are outweighed by its tangible merits.

For one thing, a noticeable ramification of the over-reliance on those devices is the lack of interaction among our society. Seemingly evident that technology is revolutionary, which could be able to close a gap between humans regardless of any geographical constraints, its convenience is steadily replacing face-to-face communication of people. With an array of features, namely video conferences or unlimited calls and instant messages, users will not have to travel long distances to see each other. Yet, this could conversely engender a psychological gap while relationships are only maintained through online channels instead of being shaped by confabulations and interactions. Hence, the inherent emotional values of human being could gradually disappear from this world within a firm.

For another, this transition toward modernization is believed to be beneficial to the result-oriented society. Undoubtedly, exchanging job-related information could be facilitated in the cyber world and spread at a higher degree among staff within the company. Since conventional communication methods such as calls and face-to-face conferences cannot provide sufficient time to address the problems of business, especially to time-conscious people when they have to attend such a meeting at a regular interval. By utilizing the conveniences of online meetings, individuals could contribute to the discussion more effectively with graphic and statistics on virtual presentation and thus, save a huge amount of time which is used for traveling long distances to the workplace. Both of which could finally result in boosted efficiency of workers and improved quality of work.

To conclude, the disadvantages of the information technology revolution are clear, however, I believe that it is overtaken by the benefits it brought to our lives.