Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure, and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In the wake of the consecutive innovations, information technology is presently not only altering multiple perspectives of people’s lives but also permeating into their houses, spare time, and jobs. Personally, its merits implicitly come before for its drawbacks.

On one hand, information technology accommodates people with high-speed communication, thus people are able to connect and integrate in an instant regardless of geographical barriers. Scores of social media networks, such as Facebook and Twitter, contrive to bind people across the world together by granting them access to an extensive online ecosystem to which millions of people have affiliated so far. Moreover, so versatile and affordable is this technology that it establishes an efficacious system of dispersing and collecting data. Google, the world-prevalent search engine, for example, provides people opportunities to approach a vast majority of subjects and thus broaden their minds.

On the other hand, as information technology devises a humongous news-sharing forum, it is immensely difficult to scrutinize and censor all of the uploaded news, many of which may entail inappropriate and misleading information. Hence, impressionable youngsters could encounter violent and obscene contents while surfing the internet and imitate those acts without truly comprehending the adverse consequences. To illustrate, there has been an increase in juvenile delinquency rate ever since online users could post everything on the internet at will.

In deduction, beyond dispute, information technology has significant influences on many fields of individuals’ lives and comes with both pros and cons. Nevertheless, its virtues are apparently predominant since they facilitate our world by functioning as an effective means of social networking and learning.