The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations reduce the consumption of fossil fuel gas and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the upsurge of world population, the demand for fossil fuel has increased exponentially causing detrimental effects to the environment. Thus, I agree with the notion that swift action must be taken by the related authorities to lessen the exploitation of fossil fuel.

To embark with, the adverse effect of fossil fuel consumption to the environment is undeniable. In recent months, we have been flooded with news reporting about climate change and global warming happening around the world. Emission of greenhouse gas such as carbon dioxide and harmful gas from industrial activities and automobiles has polluted the air severely. For example, the recent bush fire in Australia has destroyed half of the forest killing a significant number of animals with their habitats.

As fossil fuel is a non-renewable energy, continuous supply will exhaust the resource. Despite many research and innovations has been done to utilise renewable energy such as wind and solar, the consumption is still not viable in many countries especially in developing countries. Renewable energy sources are costly and it is still in the development level. I believe that our dependence on fossil fuel will reduce with the developments in technology. Meanwhile, strict rules should be imposed in industrial areas on maximum limit of carbon emission. Awareness campaign should be conducted for the public regarding the negative effect of fossil fuel overuse.

To recapitulate, it is an alarming truth that the consumption of fossil fuel is going beyond the reasonable limit and effective actions must be applied soon by the decision makers to reduce the damaging effect we might face soon if the demand is not controlled.