International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places At the same time there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages Give reasons for your answ

Travelling has been increasing drastically from the past decades. Undoubtedly, the tourism industry has brought enormous benefits not only economically but culturally as well, however, the downside cannot be overlooked.

To begin with, travelling from one country to another generates employment as many people are required to make arrangements for tourists. For instance, to provide accomodation to foreigners, hotels need to employ staff which can take care of the guests which includes, cook, waiter, cleaner, gardener and driver. Generally, in developing countries, not everyone is educated enough to find a suitable job in big companies and hence, they can be hired by the hospitality industry to maintain the well-being of the place. This results in an increase in employment rate. In addition, cultural exchange is one of the advantages of tourism as it enhances the knowledge base. People get an opportunity to learn about other religions, time-zones, eating habits, traditions and festivals. Although these things can be acquired through the internet or books, the live experience is much more worthwhile.

On the contrary, there are few drawbacks which need to be considered. Firstly, it can be a threat to our own culture due to lack of awareness about others culture. For instance, in Arab countries, Females are allowed to wear burkha instead of short-dresses, however, foreigners might not understand the mythological beliefs behind this phenomenon and tend to disrespect the people of that country,although unintentionally. Secondly, tourism contributes in pollution. This is because a larger amount of passengers are travelling across the globe and the aviation industry provides cheaper flights which results in emission of huge carbon dioxide. Moreover, it affects the air quality index which makes air hazardous to inhale. For example, in the past few decades the AQI has been raised from moderate i.e 72 to poor i.e 122 which is not good for human beings.

To conclude, there is no doubt that travelling is beneficial in true sense as it raises job opportunities and promotes cultural transfer, however, it can be disrespectful sometimes and is contributing to air pollution.