Nowadays weddings are becoming bigger and more expensive Why is it happening Is it a negative or a positive development

Nowadays, the trend of organising large and high-priced marriage ceremonies is increasing. This is majorly because of the pressure of maintaining social status and increasing gathering culture. Although it is once in lifetime experience, it imposes financial burden on middle class families which is largely detrimental for the society.

The predominant reason to hold a big-sized celebration is the influence of the society. People are running in a race to flaunt their wealth. To be clearer, if someone organizes a big wedding party, other people who have attended the event are expected to have even a bigger party. This Is nothing but the measurement of one's standard of living and on that basis, people treat others in the society. Moreover, the grander the celebration, the more respectable they become. Besides this, with the growing social media trend, people love to gather occasionally and share pictures on digital platforms and showcase their designer clothes, jewellery, makeup and venue. Because of these two reasons, the exorbitant celebrations are increasing.

This phenomenon affects families financially. This is because 70 percent of individuals belong to a middle class family and they are unable to afford lavish parties; however, the societal pressure makes them to take loans and throw a grand party. As a result, it increases financial challenges for them and it becomes a herculean task to even survive. Not only financially but the stress of repaying debts also adversely affects physical and mental well-being. According to a 2015 survey, 68% of individuals are suffering from clinical depression owing to financial burden. However, the relevance of having memories cannot be overlooked. Money can be earned throughout life but marriage is a life time experience which is more important than funds.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the parties are getting bigger due to maintaining social class and flaunting on digital media; however, it is building stress of repaying loans and affecting individuals' health.