International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh disadvantages?

Global travel has been growing rapidly in the recent decade, which can be attributed to the reasonable price of the aviation industry. While I accept that welcoming a variety of foreign travelers can generate some negative impacts, I strongly believe that its benefits are far exceed its drawbacks for compelling reasons.

On one hand, the growth in international tourism would come along with huge environmental concerns. To be specific, the millions of travelers flocking to natural tourist attractions are jeopardising its natural landscapes. Tourists often litter the streets and beaches by throwing plastic wrappers and drinking bottles around. Thus, this issue creates monumental challenges in waste management. This can be seen in the case of Phu Quoc island or Ha Long Bay are struggling to conserve their natural beauty due to mass tourism.

On the other hand, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by considerable benefits from several aspects. Firstly, tourism usually boosts the revenue of the economy. Foreign tourists contribute to the economy of the host country with the big money they spend on a wide range of goods and services, including food, souvenirs, accommodations, and travel. As a result, there are endless job opportunities for local people in travel agencies, hotel management, tour operators, restaurant business, and souvenir shops. Secondly, tourism could create a cultural exchange between tourists and local citizens. Through respectful interactions, a broaden view from diverse groups of people can be achieved. Thus, international travel tends to bring people together via cultural enrichment.

In conclusion, despite the fact that either way has its pros and cons. International travel certainly owns more favorable points in comparison with its drawbacks. It is predicted that there will be more and people travel globally and greatly contribute to the economy of the hosting country as well as cultural exchange.