International travel is becoming cheaper, and coutries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

In this cutting edge time, thanks to transportable innovation, oversea travel is more affordable for foreigners and some nations are welcoming more visitors. Although, this tendency can causes many negative effects to these countries, they are still overshadowed by the merits.

On the one hand, there are many bad effects which can cause environmental problems when increasing tourists from various places. The first and foremost is that this tendency will escalate migrants who are from a different culture, and even if they act responsibly, the sheer number of them can cause damage. Besides, due to cultural differences, some visitors often lack respect for local traditions and customs, hence they behaved inappropriately. For example, after being recognized by UNESCO as a wold heritage site in 1994, Ha Long Bay became one of the most attractive places in Vietnam. However, the more travelers, the more trash was littered here due to carelessness as well as lacking of awareness of outer people, and this affects severely to the aesthetic of Ha Long.

Nevertheless, it cannot be denied that the benefits from tourism far outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, it boosts the GDP of the economy of host destinations by generating income, and that is why it make up a crucial proportion for a nation especially developing countries. In addition, opening doors also helps create thousands of jobs for citizens such as staffs in hotels, bars, or travel agency. For instant, Thailand is a developing southeast nations which take advantage of tourism to grow their revenue and now it is described as one of the development success stories. Last but not least, traveling spurs government to invest on infrastructure to brings a safe and convenient places with advanced facilities for foreigners, then the locals can have a chance to experience these best utilities.

In conclusion, tourism is not only a vital activity but also a pivotal industry for a nation in this globalization era, though it can cause many demerits when inviting more foreigners, the positive effects can eclipse the downsides.