Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using the internet to make financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem?

While the web-based offence has been growing at a rapid pace, as an increasing number of individuals are using the internet for money transactions, it could be mitigated. I firmly believe that governments should have to introduce strict cybercrime laws and create awareness in order to curb the crime ratio.

One of the chief reasons for rising internet-based evil is the ease of access to personal information from social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, and What’s App. Hackers trap innocent people by sending them messages on their profiles and ask useful information about bank accounts. For example, in South Asia, particularly in Pakistan and India, Looters tend to make phone calls for the sake of getting valuable information by pretending bank employees. So, once they grab entire account details, they transfer funds in no time. As a result, people may deprive of precious money unintentionally.

However, there are several remedies that can be helpful to halt this rising menace. One of the most prominent solutions is that the States ought to set new rules for shielding people from computer-based crimes. If someone breaches the law, a fixed punishment should be applied to these culprits in terms of putting them into the jail. By doing so, the crime level may be reduced, and criminals would not dare to re-offend. For example, if the government punish hackers and set a benchmark, criminal intentions could be discouraged.

Furthermore, the government can deter the crime rate by raising awareness via using social media and TV. Because if people aware of such activities, they would never share the useful information again. As the root cause of the problem lies also in a lack of education about cybercrime. Therefore, these methods will be benefited immensely and bring a revolutionary change at a large-scale.

In conclusion, although with the advent technology criminals may approach information conveniently, I think, if authorities play an active role in monitoring these activities, this issue could be solved.