Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using the internet to make financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem?

These days, online offence is escalating drastically because considerable number of people are accessing various websites for money transfer. In my opinion, I consider that companies should strengthen internet safety and public's data protection and government ought to enforce strict laws and regulations against cyber crime.

To commence with, in the modern digital world, there is tremendous surge in internet usage for business and personal financial transactions and this trend eventually results in an immense growth in the fraud, identity theft and financial cyber crime. For example, in the domain of digitization, people infrequently contact bank staff but rather interact almost entirely using digital channels and due to these changes increased vulnerability of malicious financial fraud by fraudsters in numerous ways such as, credit and debit cards identity thefts, ATM frauds.

However, there are different steps could be taken to mitigate the internet security issues. The most vital thing to get protection against cyber crime is that passwords for login on finance related websites including banking, investment etc, should be long enough and complicated that could not be easily recognizable and ought not to share password protected sites with anyone . For instance, many hackers enters in the password secured websites by exploiting people's weak passwords so it is imperative to create strong passwords by using combinations of upper case, lower case alphabets, numbers, signs and others. Furthermore, people should utterly avoid the use of dubious sites and should not share personal information on those sites. To illustrate, gangs of web attackers generally design malware websites of banking or other finance related institutions and hack people's personal data and other secure information by these fraudulent websites to transact money from their account.

Finally, government and financial companies and banking sectors should imply strict and tight guidelines to make sure customers' data security at high level. As an example, hackers generally breach companies online security system by getting well acquainted with their protection system. Therefore it is extremely essential for financial institutions, to continuous monitoring of various steps of security, instant action on any risk of fraud, authentication of customers, detection of transactions, prompt response to any suspicious activities.

In conclusion, while digital platforms are at high risk of cyber crime, I believe that strong network of security measures taken by financial organizations in the forms of uncrackable security code system to ensure consumers' personal data protection and laws and regulations enforced by government against fraud activities, could ultimately tackle with this arduous online crime issue.