The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

After the rapid advent of social media and the new ways of communication the Internet offers, contrasting opinions about whether these advances are beneficial or deleterious have arisen. I am of the opinion that both views need to be considered in order to have a fair view of the topic.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that all these developments have created an infinite range of possibilities in terms of communication. Nowadays it is possible to feel you are travelling to any country just by viewing posts of social media influencers who visit the most remote places in the world and share their experiences with everyone. Personally, I have harnessed these new technologies, for instance, when I lived for six months in the Netherlands to communicate with my family. Had I been born 50 years ago, I wouldn't have been able to share pictures of my abroad adventure with my parents and friends, for example.

On the other hand, several downsides need to be evaluated. Despite physically bringing us together in some ways, I feel some aspects of these new ways of communication have also emotionally distanced many others. People only show the positive aspects of their lives on social media, which makes others suffer from self-love issues and envy. All these unwanted effects are even worse when it comes to teenagers, who are in many cases addicted to smartphones and give more importance to their virtual life than to the real one.

Overall, I think that, while social media has the great opportunity to become the main source of entertainment and a place to enrich ourselves by sharing experiences with others, it is in our hands to overcome the numerous threats these new developments bring.