The Internet has revolutionized the modern world, but it has also created new problems and inequalities. Do you agree?

It is undoubted that the Internet has gained in popularity over recent decades thanks to its enormous benefits. As a result, the Internet has obviously transformed much of our society. However, not only does the rapid development of the Internet have certain positive impacts, but it also poses a serious threat of burning issues and inequalities. Thus, I personally agree with the perspective that the Internet is a double-edged sword as the reasons stated below.

On the one hand, the predominance of the Internet has brought significant changes to our lives. Firstly, information is probably the biggest advantage that the Internet offers. Clearly, there exists an abundant amount of information available on the internet about a wide range of subjects, ranging from government law and services, trade fairs and conferences, new ideas and technical support to cultures and entertainment. Additionally, this huge cache of data is updated regularly with local and global latest news, which permits us to keep pace with citizens all around the world. Secondly, the Internet is of great benefit in terms of communication. That is to say, the rapid expansion and development of social networks and electronic services have paved the way for a new and incredibly powerful tool of connecting, which is online interacting. For instance, trading activities are now discussed online through emails with minimum time. Also, with the help of such advances, it has become easier to stay in touch with our beloved ones even in faraway places.

On the other hand, it is believed that a handful of problems and inequalities also underlies the appearance of the Internet. The first issue that deserves a public concern is information safety and quality. Admittedly, there are certain network sites which may contain offensive and dangerous contents such as pornography or violent instructions. Moreover, people may suffer from cyber-criminals who can reveal our personal information or cause a loss to our online privacy for unrighteous purposes. Another problem arose from the dramatic growth of the Internet is inequality between individuals and societies. It can be clearly seen that children in developed cities are provided with a better Internet-based learning method. Meanwhile, students in remote areas can hardly get any opportunities to approach such a broad source of data available on the Internet. Hence, the gap in accessing information between people is drastically increasing.

In conclusion, I once again assert that the Internet has salutary effects on modern life, but it has been fraught with problems at the same time.