It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, many people take a one-year break to travel or work across the world before going to college. This trend recently is also known as “gap year” which can draw both pros and cons, which will be discussed in this essay.

One of the main pros of taking a gap year is becoming more focused. It means that youngsters will have more time to consider carefully about their real passion to pursue. Besides, deciding to take a year off after graduated from high school is also a good chance for students to enrich life experiences.Today, there are a lot of youngsters coming from US went to Asia nations to teach children who live in remote areas.This may help them to enhance their awareness of life and improve crucial soft skills.

Turning to the other sides of this topic, there is also some drawbacks of the trend “ gap year”. People who take a year off will be a year behind their peers, it will gain the distance between the knowledge and adaptation to university environmental. Moreover, young people might get in trouble with their plan because they see too many things, and they do not know what they need to do first. This could lead to break the plan and a gap year becomes a disaster.

In conclusion, taking a one-year break after high school has both negative and positive sides. Follow these aspects above, it can be seen that people will become more mature when they spend a year to join in other activities while others might have a feeling of inferiority complex when they have a year behind their friends or break the plan. People should think carefully before making a decision to take a gap year or not.