It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

Today, many students choose a "gap year" after graduating from high school. Instead of immediately continuing with a college program after high school, or applying for a job, some students can use this "sleep" year for other things. That gives them both benefit and harm.

One of the benefits is that those who choose to take a 1-year break will learn new things. A gap year will give you lessons that are not taught in the classroom. Learning will not only revolve around academic problems, but it can be a determined plan to master a foreign language, bravely participate in an extreme sport, strengthen computer skills or try experience teaching English for example. In addition, the gap year is also a time for us to learn more about ourself, discover what motivates and inspires us, and develop confidence. Another benefit is making money. Taking a year off to work is a great way to make a little extra money to spare before you head off to college. You probably will not be able to make enough money to pay for college, but the money you earn can help you take care of things like housing, books, travel, or even a day or two. tuition fees for the first semester. This will help you feel more confident when living independently, and take some of the financial burden off of college

On the orther hand, it still has some disadvantages. One of them is wasting our precious time. When students decide to take a gap year, they move away from their traditional studies or established work schedules. Therefore, it is important for them to draw up a clear and specific plan for themselves. To prevent wasted time, we should start planning as soon as we decide on a gap year, set goals and be determined to stick to our plan. Next, it always has potential risks. Like most other life choices, taking a gap year can be risky for a variety of reasons. You may be injured or sick while traveling, run out of money or budget for a gap year, or you may be disappointed when you return simply realizing that your experience was not “shiny” as you were expecting. However, always remember that every option has its pluses and minuses, and you will always learn something from your experiences. Whatever you choose, believe and do your best with your choice.

In short, choosing to take a year off from high school before going to college gives you not only advantages, but also disadvantages. We should make wise decisions and actions to get a good result for ourselves.