It is a common aspiration among many young people to run their own business. Rather than work for an employer.Do you think the advantages of working for yourself overweigh the drawbacks?

Gone are the days when people embrace the traditional nine-to-five office jobs. In the era of entrepreneurship, those who crave personal fulfillment and economic prosperity are spurred to launch their own business instead of being employed by a company. In spite of the potential rewards awaiting those self-employed adventurers, I think it unwise to follow this trend as the drawbacks of starting up one’s own business outweigh its benefits.

Without a doubt, people who run business start-ups have considerable autonomy over their work. In comparison with the employees being restricted by the rules of a job, those self-employed business proprietors have complete authority over any decision related to the business and enjoy the flexibility of their work schedules. For example, a restaurant owner can take a decision to raise prices or open a new branch to expand his business whenever required. Moreover, without a strict daily routine, he is free to set his own working hours and come and go as he pleases.

Nevertheless, starting up your own business involves considerable risks of incurring financial distress. It generally requires an initial start-up cost to launch a small business, while the biggest obstacle most fledgling entrepreneurs might encounter is the difficulty in securing a large amount of venture capital. To address this financial problem, they might either apply for a bank loan with high interest or mortgage their house, land and property to begin their business. However, chances are their business does not succeed and that they have no choice but to liquidate their company, thereby sinking deeper into debt and facing insolvency.

In conclusion, I argue that the drawbacks of setting up one’s own enterprise surpass the benefits, for people would definitely experience much more stress than those employed by a company. Although they could have greater control over the work they are passionate about, they could not overlook the fact that the threat of insolvency. Once people get bogged down in a quagmire of a financial fiasco, their own business can become a heavy burden with their aspirations turning into a nightmare. Since we should prioritize our financial security, it is unreasonable to gamble our well-being on risky business start-ups.