It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

There is a broad agreement on the comparison of the number of people nowadays applying mail system to send letters. This essay will identify the plausible reason the number nowadays is smaller than that in a century before, thus estimating effects on later generation.

Regarding the main cause, one possible is the procedure of mailing letter via post which now seems to be more complicated when compared with through email. This procedure could consist of packaging document or letter, going to the post office, and delivering by postman. Meanwhile, as the existence of email nowadays, the sender merely needs typing and clicking by the online personal computer. Furthermore, another reason is the considerable benefit of the time spent in which mailing letters through email is faster than that through traditional post. Example can be seen from the fact that postman normally spent more than a day for addressing mail, while only a brief seconds can e-mail provider deliver letters.

Turning to the potential impacts, it is expected that sending electronic mail would dictate the later generation to relatively lack of handwriting skill. To clarify, the letter sent via post mail frequently requires the senders to hand-write, while that through email merely order them to type. As a result, the less frequent people hand-write, the more their handwriting skills will lack. Finally, other potential effect is a rise in unemployment numbers because job opportunities as postman would not be available for the next generation. This could be seen when fewer people implement mail system, causing that post office would be dissolved and postman’s services will remain by no means essential.

Overall, it is possible to conclude that the benefits of electronic mail today, such as simple procedure and fast delivery, enhance people to replace the use of post mail. Consequently, this will address some impacts on coming generation such as lack of handwriting and a rise of unemployment numbers.