It is generally believed that the internet is an excellent means of communication but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The internet has brought a revolution in information. Every day millions of people worldwide browse the internet pages. Although some of the information it brings might be distorted or misused, the internet has countless of applications that are beneficial like emails and search engines.

Admittedly, some of the material the internet brings are not accurate or confusing. Non-specialized people can add or edit information that otherwise need professionals to handle them. Wikipedia, for example, can be edited or changed by anyone who has an access to the internet. this process of editing by lay people not only brings some errors in the materials published, but it also can lead to distortion of a whole subject, like history or politics. these events,fortunately, are rare and these websites have filters that can distinguish true information from fake news. The other drawback of the internet is misperception. With that I mean readers can misunderstand the content. For example, there are many websites that offer free medical advises. If a patient looking for a remedy for his or her own disease, then its possible for him or her to misunderstand the advice offered and make an erroneous decision based on this website.

On the other hand, the internet has provided researchers with a lot of scientific materials. scientists are able to collect, analyse and publish nowadays more easily than before, thanks to the internet. My professor, for example, has published more than a hundred peer-reviewed article on electronic journals.

Additionally, business people are corresponding more efficiently by the internet. Billions of emails are sent and received on a daily basis and countless number of electronic transactions are being processed electronically. this has brought convenience and prosperity to societies.

In conclusion, while one has to be cognizant and carefull during processing information from the internet, The internet has provided major advantages and wealth to scientists and entrepreneur. Governments should invest on this aspect to bring prosperity to their citizens.