Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

In many countries criminals are sent to prison as part of legal system. criminals have to be separated from the rest of society to prevent harm. while other solutions like education has some benefit, prisons continue to have the best value to protect societies and provide skills and knowledge to prisoners.

admittedly, education is a very important way to avoid crimes. Nations with high percentages of educated citizens have lower crime rates. education can reduce crime rates not only by offering better jobs, but also by teaching young generation what is right and what is wrong. However, the effect of education is only minimal and can only prevent minor crimes. For example, many youth can be educated to avoid driving under the influence of alcohol in order to reduce road traffic crashes.

With prisons every member in the society feels safe. With that I mean citizens will trust the judicial system in that society, including law enforcement measures, if criminals are jailed in prisons. Women, men and children could walk at day time or night with out the fear of being robbed or assaulted. Research has shown that the presence of jails in a city has two-times higher rate of people satisfaction and more than a half reduction in crime rates.

jails could be a good place to rehabilitate criminals. criminals could learn new skills or have a higher education. if criminals have determination and the capacity to self-improvement, then they will have an opportunity to do so while in jail. Throughout history, for instance, we have heard of prisoners who had graduated from a renowned university or even finished their PHD degrees during their years in prison.

In conclusion, although education has some value in reducing crime rates, prisons plays more of a role in controlling violence, securing societies and educating prisoners. Governments should invest more in prisons to make them ideal places in achieving prisons goals.