It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance, for sports or music and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A few people opine that talent of being a good sportsperson or musician is inbuilt while others cogitate that children can be trained to play sports or music. In my opinion, skills are both inborn and instilled. I would be explaining both the viewpoints in my essay.

To commence with, some people are indeed born with incomparable talents. In other words, it is not even required, sometimes, to introduce them to their field of expertise, they just find their way through the thick and thin. To illustrate this, there has been well known child prodigies. In music it is Mozart and Bento Asis, who is a golf prodigy. They both excelled in their fields at the age of 4 and 2 respectively with limited guidance from their parents. Hence, their talent and love for their field is nothing but inborn.

On the other hand, it is also believed by few people that skills can be taught to children. To elaborate, children often become interested in the activities by looking up to the elders. In such cases, if parents divert their attention towards sports or music and provide them required training, they are able to learn faster. For instance, Katy Perry did not sing at all until age of nine but when she was given training in music and dance, she never had to look back. Therefore, once the children dedicate their time and effort in learning something it is possible for them to be talented.

In conclusion, I would reiterate that people can be either have a natural inbuilt talent or it can be imbibed. I would also argue that, morning shows the days. A talent inbuilt or imbibed never goes wasted.