It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance, for sports or music and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A few people opine that talent of being a good sportsperson or musician is inbuilt while others cogitate that children can be trained to play sports or music. I think that skills are both inborn and instilled and I would be explaining both the viewpoints in my essay.

To commence with, some people are indeed born with incomparable talents. In other words, it is not even required, sometimes, to introduce people to their field of expertise. They just find their way through the thick and thin. I would like to illustrate an example here, there has been well known child prodigies. Mozart and Bento Asis, both had excelled in music and golf at the age of 4 and 2 respectively with limited guidance and assistance from parents or coaches. Hence, without inherent talent, it is not possible for children to acquire such fame.

However, it is also believed by few people that skills can be taught to children. To elaborate, children often become interested in the activities by looking up to the elders. In such cases, if parents divert the attention of youngsters towards sports or music and required training is provided, they are able to learn faster. For instance, Katy Perry did not sing at all until age of nine but when she was given training in music and dance, she never had to look back. Therefore, once the children show dedication and effort in learning something it is possible for them to be talented.

In conclusion, I would reiterate that people can either have a natural inbuilt talent or it can be imbibed. I would also argue that, morning shows the days and a little encouragement can go a long way.