It is generally believed that some people are born certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate between nature versus nurture has been going on for some time, I believe both are of great importance in developing any skill.

Generally, education systems have been trying to instill a sense of equal chances for everyone. On a psychology level, this would encourage learners to work hard because they believe with sufficient efforts, they can be as good as anyone else. We can find a lot of evidence to back it up. One extreme example would be people who were born with certain limb disabilities. Naturally, it seems almost impossible for these people to excel in sports, however, after receiving proper guidance and training, many of them were recorded to beat normal, healthy athletes of the same field. In the area of art, a common perception has been persisted among many people is that they cannot draw. This belief quickly disappeared for some of them after they were taught the correct techniques and approaches of making paintings. Many motivated ones even decided to pursue this career and became great painters.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that some people were born gifted with certain talents that surpass everyone else. One of the most noticeable epitomes of this would be the case of Mozart who started composing and performing music by the age of five. His prodigious ability was regarded by many experts to be unparalleled and it seems improbable for an average person to match his genius with mere practice and training.

However, I believe both training and talent are essential in learning any skill. A lack of one element can be compensated by the other to some extent but not completely. A genius cannot exploit all of his ability without any training and it is futile to train a skill which you have no expertise on.

In conclusion, I agree that with given proper education, any child can become great athlete or musician.